Advertisement

Turns out, “Staged to Perfection” may not be a fitting name for Meridith Baer’s HGTV show.

The “luxury stager,” who on her program uses a warehouse full of home furnishings to “completely redecorate homes listed for sale in Los Angeles’ high-end real estate market,” is being sued by a client who says Baer gave him furniture that in no way matched her hefty fee.


RELATED: Another HGTV star is in a bit of hot water for after delaying a Minneapolis home renovation

According to the New York Daily News, Adam Piekarski hired Baer’s companies to do work on an apartment he rented after his West Village townhouse was damaged in a Memorial Day flood. The lawsuit claims Baer sent Piekarski “defective” furniture, then refused to refund his $45,000 initial payment after he canceled his order. He’s asking for $120,000 in compensatory damages and $1.3 million in punitive damages.

Baer’s company released a statement saying Piekarski changed his mind about leasing the furniture and now wants to “blame and to defame our company.” It says it “stands fully behind the work it performed for Mr. Piekarski.”

RELATED: Fans of HGTV’s “Love It or List It” really aren’t going to like this

Baer, whose celebrity clients include Gwyneth Paltrow and Rihanna, reportedly charges $55,000 plus $4,500 a month for rentals.

(H/T: New York Daily News)

Beth Sawicki About the author:
Beth Sawicki is a content editor at Rare. Email her at Beth@Rare.us.
View More Articles
Advertisement
Advertisement